Hong Chulki

Hong Chulki(Hong is the family name) was born in 1976 and he lives in Seoul, South Korea. In 1996 he formed a band called 'Mani Mukgo Himne' with his friends. However he was so into guitar noise and feedback that he brought up the idea of forming a noise project with Choi Joonyong. In the early days of Astronoise, Chulki played guitar making only howling feedback sound. Now equipments he uses are especially turntables, mixers, broken MD players, laptop, CD player. Still it's all about feedback and amplification. When Astronoise's first demo tape 'Feedback Composition No.1' came out, he also released his solo works of guitar soundscape called 'Lightyear'. He has also led bands like Puredigitalsilence and Automatic Hand-dryer. He currently performs as a member of Astronoise, Seoul Frequency Group and as himself exploring different ideas with other musicians. He has released three solo albums(including one web release). 'No Silence' is made with mixing board feedback and 'Surface & Feedback'(released by Manual) and 'without cartridge, with cartridge' are made with turntable.
(photo from Dotolim)

website: www.hongchulki.com

Hong Chulki - Lightyear (cassette tape, 1997)

Hong Chulki - No Silence (web release, 2006: Balloon & Needle)

Hong Chulki, Will Guthrie - Mosquitoes and Crabs (CD, 2018: Erstwhile Records)

Hong Chulki, Kevin Drumm, Choi Joonyong - Normal (CD, 2015: Balloon & Needle)

Hong Chulki, Jin Sangtae, Tetuzi Akiyama - dotolim live series_01 (CD, 2014: Dotolim)

Hong Chulki, Ryu Hankil - Objets Infernaux (CD, 2014: Erstwhile Records)

Hong Chulki + Aaron Dilloway (cassette tape, 2013: Idiopathic Records)

Hong Chulki, Nick Hoffman, Ryu Hankil - SONNE (LP, 2012: Pilgrim Talk)

Hong Chulki, Ryu Hankil, Choi Joonyong - all Ears Festival for Improvisert Musikk 2011 (digital, 2012: Audition Records)

Hong Chulki, Ryu Hankil, Choi Joonyong - INFERIOR SOUNDS (CD, 2011: Balloon & Needle)

Hong Chulki, Jin Sangtae, Kevin Parks -  (CD, 2011: Celadon Records)

Hong Chulki - TOUT CE QUI EST HORS LE SOUVERAIN EST ENNEMI (cassette tape, 2011: Hanson Records)

Hong Chulki, Jason Kahn, Ryu Hankil, Jin Sangtae, Choi Joonyong, Park Seungjun - Dotolim (CD, 2010: Balloon & Needle)

Hong Chulki, Joe Foster, Takahiro Kawaguchi, Ryu Hankil - oscillation. vacillation (CD, 2009: Balloon & Needle)


Hong Chulki - Amplified WC (mini-cdr, 2009: Ghost and Son)

Hong Chulki, Choi Joonyong, Sachiko M, Otomo Yoshihide - Sweet Cuts, Distant Curves (CD, 2008: Balloon & Needle)

Hong Chulki, Choi Joonyong, Ryu Hankil - 5 modules_V: Three Composition Pieces (CD-R, 2008: Manual)

Hong Chulki, Lee Hangjun - Expanded Celluloid, Extended Phongraph (DVD, 2008: Balloon & Needle)

Hong Chulki, Choi Joonyong - hum and rattle (CD, 2007: Balloon & Needle)

Hong Chulki - without cartridge, with cartridge (double mini CDRs, 2007: Balloon & Needle)

Hong Chulki - 'Surface & Feedback' 5 modules_II: Surface & Feedback (CD-R, 2007: Manual)

Hong Chulki, Choi Joonyong - Duo Works +1 (CD-R, 2005: Rasbliutto Recordings)

Hong Chulki, Choi Joonyong, Joe Foster - 4387 sec. (CD-R, 2005: Balloon & Needle)

Hong Chulki, Choi Joonyong - cd1, cd2 (CD-R, 2004: Balloon & Needle)

Hong Chulki, Choi Joonyong, Sato Yukie - 4462 sec. (CD-R, 2004: Balloon & Needle)

Hong Chulki, Choi Joonyong - Pulse Music Suite I-V (CD-R, 2003: Balloon & Needle)

Balloon & Needle Compilation - music made with balloon and/or needle (2 CDS, 2014: Balloon & Needle)
Fukushima! (2 CDS, 2012: Presqu'ile Records)
Dotolim USB (USB memory, 2012: Dotolim)
The Wire's Below the Radar vol.3 'Sowieso' (mp3, 2010: The Wire)
RELAY : Archive 2007 - 2008 (2 CDS, 2009: Manual)
Compost and Height first birthday celebration compilations (3 CDRs/free download, 2009: Compost and Height)
Signal to Noise vol.6 (CD, 2008: For4ears)
ONJO - LIVE Vol.2 'Parallel Circuit' (2 CDS, 2007: Doubt Music)

soundtracks for films
- The Study of Homomorphic (director: Kim Dong Myung, 2003)
- Cracked Share pt.2,3,4 (director: Lee Hang Jun, 2006)
- Suicidal Variations (director: Kim Gok/Kim Sun, 2007)
- Metaphysics of Sound (director: Lee Hang Jun, 2006)
- Critical Density (director: Kim Gok/Kim Sun, 2007)
- Exhausted (director: Kim Gok, 2008)

Sound Installations
- Turntables without Cartridge
- Amplified WC
- Tectonic Membranophonics

"Agamben's Homo Sacer: Bare Life and Its New Politics," Journal BOL 05 (spring 2007), Insa Art Space